Living deliberately – humility

As a pre-amble to some words on humility – by no means do I consistently do all the things I’ve talked about in the last few posts (or this one). But by thinking/blogging about this stuff, I hope to be more simple, of more service, with more humility.

I think humility is much different than the lack of pride. I think if I were truly humble, I would be better able to put other’s needs ahead of my own. This might look like:
* Truly listening to my wife/children/co-workers when they speak to me (see Lauren’s prior comment on mindfulness)
* Seeing behind the words to understand what people really need. A hug? An affirmation? Guidance?
* Responding to requests quickly and with love.
* Anticipating needs around the house and doing things BEFORE I’m asked
* Complimenting people around me even if no one is complimenting me.

This stuff all sounds so simple and yet it is so hard for me. It reminds me of the second half of my favorite prayer – the prayer of St. Francis:

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

This entry was posted in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Living deliberately – humility

  1. Dad says:

    But you had such an awesome example, me!
    Love,
    Dad

Leave a comment